Shelbina Weekly
Shelbina Weekly, 217 East Maple St., Shelbina, MO 63468-1219
Phone: 573-588-0051, Fax: 573-588-0052, Email:

Home     Headlines     Sports & Other News     Photo Gallery     Classified Ads     Archives

Article Archives

Voters Say Yes to New Elementary; Choose Gough and Schoonover for R-IV Board
Click Photo to Enlarge  

Voters said yes to the question of whether to build a new South Shelby Elementary School, and Shelbina voters chose Jerry Fenton as their City Marshal during Tuesday’s election.
   In what has been a heated debate for the last several months voters decided in favor of the measure to build a new South Shelby Elementary School. A total of 951 voters voted yes on the measure, while 843 voted against the measure.
   For Shelbina City Marshall, a total of 363 voted for incumbent Jerry Fenton while Daniel Dovin received 262 votes.
   For the full story, see this week’s issue of the Shelbina Weekly.
  9533 1814 4/4/2018 hdl

Click Photo to Enlarge  

A semi-truck caught fire on Wednesday morning, March 28, on Highway 36. The truck was traveling east bound and took the shoulder between Clarence and Lentner. The Clarence Rural Fire Department responded along with the Shelbina Fire Protection District, the Shelby County Sheriff’s Department and the Highway Patrol. The driver was uninjured in the fire.   9534 1814 4/4/2018 hdl

Petition Filed Monday for Shelby County R-IV Split
Click Photo to Enlarge  

A petition was filed with the Shelby County Clerk’s office Monday afternoon for the west portion of the Shelby County R-IV School district to split off and join the Macon R-1 District. According to Macon County Clerk Shirley Sims, the petition was also filed with the Macon R-I School District. Attempts to contact the Macon R-1 Superintendent’s office failed Tuesday, since school was not in session. Shelby County R-IV School Superintendent verified that he was presented the petition at his office Monday afternoon as well.
   According to Shelby County Clerk Tracy Smith, a group of five people, Darcy Anderson, Susan McCarty, Lee Wood, George Singer and Debbie Griswold presented the petition with signitures to the Clerk’s office.
   For the full story, see this week’s issue of the Shelbina Weekly.
  9535 1814 4/4/2018 hdl

Shelby and Monroe County Cattlemen Join Forces for Missouri Cattlemen’s Affiliate
Click Photo to Enlarge  

Nearly 100 cattle producers from Monroe and Shelby County gathered in Shelbina on Saturday evening, March 24th at the American Legion to make the merger of the two county’s an official venture as Missouri’s newest MCA affiliate organization. According to Albert Meyers, newly elected Vice President of Programs for the Monroe-Shelby Cattlemen’s Association, “being the premier commodity organization in the state of Missouri, the Missouri Cattlemen’s Association is well known for being a leading advocate for producers all across the state to improve and protect the livelihood of cattlemen and cattlewomen’s operations. Creation of the Monroe-Shelby MCA affiliate gives producers in these respective counties a direct connection to MCA staff, associated programs and a voice in all matters addressed by MCA.”
   For the full story, see this week’s issue of the Shelbina Weekly.
  9536 1814 4/4/2018 hdl

Filings for the August Primary
Click Photo to Enlarge  

The following are the filings for county offices and political committees that Shelby County Clerk Tracy Smith received for the Aug. 7, 2018 Primary Election.
   Smith is giving notice that a Primary Election will be held on Aug. 7, 2018 for the purpose of nominating candidates for county offices to be voted on at the General Election to be held Tuesday, Nov. 6, 2018. The polling places will be open between the hours of 6 a.m. and 7 p.m.
   Listed below is the name and office of each candidate for nomination, together with a designation of the office for which he or she is a candidate and the party that he or she represents. For each office, Vote for One. The ballot for said election should be substantially in the following form:
   Democratic Ticket
   Associate Circuit Judge - Mike Greenwell
   Circuit Clerk - Rose Shively
   Collector of Revenue - John K. Chinn
   County Clerk - Stephanie Bender
   Presiding Commissioner, (Vote for One) - Glenn Eagan, Bert Greenwell
   Recorder of Deeds - Audrey Grawe Buzzard
   Treasurer - Tracy Smith
   Prosecuting Attorney - Jordan Rogers
  9537 1814 4/4/2018 hdl


Shelbina Weekly

Home     Headlines     Sports & Other News     Photo Gallery     Classified Ads     Archives          Top

Copyright  2008 Shelbina Weekly. All rights reserved.
Contact: 573-588-0051 or    Hit Counter

powered by
WebPaperDB - Database-Driven Web Site Content Manager

 WebPaperDB Copyright 2008 Ely Ranch Web Services 

Ely Ranch Web Services